Technology And Science, Tips

ORA-00204 : error in reading (block N, # blocks M) of control file

Yesterday, After severe errors had happened in My Computer. I couldn’t start my database instance and got this following error.

ERROR MESSAGE:
SQL*Plus: Release 11.1.0.7.0 – Production on Mon Nov 7 13:25:30 2011

Copyright (c) 1982, 2008, Oracle.  All rights reserved.

SQL> Connected.
SQL> SQL> ALTER DATABASE mount
*
ERROR at line 1:
ORA-00204: error in reading (block 3, # blocks 8 ) of control file
ORA-00202: control file: ‘E:\APP\XXX\ORADATA\ORCL\CONTROL01.CTL’
ORA-27070: async read/write failed
OSD-04006: ReadFile() failure, unable to read from file
O/S-Error: (OS 23) Data error (cyclic redundancy check).

By checking the error stack that showed an O/S Error at the bottom line, I decided to use “Check Disk” Tool on Drive E:\ (where my oracle data was installed) to fix this error. Fortunately, by the time the process finished, I was able to start my database instance & not getting such error anymore. Lucky Me😀

Note: Please remember, If you run the check disk tool your drive will be temporary unavailable.

6 thoughts on “ORA-00204 : error in reading (block N, # blocks M) of control file

  1. I have the same problem in one of my project.

    sql> conn / as sysdba
    CONNECTED;
    sql>shutdown immediate

    I just Copy the CONTROL02.CTL as CONTROL01.CTL

    and then start the database.
    sql>startup

Leave a Reply

