Technology And Science, Tips

Samsung IP Camera Webviwer Plugin Update Issue

Couple months ago, I can open the samsung ip (network) camera webviewer using chrome browser. However, we I try to open it today, it shows an installation/update issue.

Samsung Update issue
Samsung Installation/update issue

Even if I have already downloaded and installed the webviewer plugin update, I was continously redirected to this webpage which is confusing. I have tried to google it but I cannot find any solution regarding this issue. But not until I realize that many korean companies love Internet Explorer so much. Maybe the webviewer plugin is only intended for Internet Explorer. So, I decided to launch my IE (which I rarely do) to open my IP camera admin page. However, the same issue still occurs. This time with a more specific message.

Message
Pop-up Message

It is pretty helpful message, so then I followed that message to enable the enhanced protected mode in my internet option.

Enhanced Protected Mode
Enhanced Protected Mode

 

After relaunching the Internet Explorer, the same pop-up still occur but when I hit cancel, there is an additional message on the bottom of IE asking permission to allow running the plugin. Just allow the plugin to run, and the webviewer should now work like charm.

Note: if it is still not working, make sure that you have already updated the firmware of the ip-camera. Please visit samsung official website to obtain the latest firmware update.

2 thoughts on “Samsung IP Camera Webviwer Plugin Update Issue

  1. I keep having the same issue on certain PCs, while others work fine. I have no idea what the difference is. I’ve run as administrator and no difference. It affects Firefox and IE11 the same. Samsung (Hanwha) should move away from using a plugin and just use HTML5.

    1. Maybe you should also update the camera firmware. I was having the same issue, but then I installed Samsung SmartViewer software to update the latest firmware and it worked.

Leave a Reply

